Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Offside Part 2

So the U.S. is through to the round of 16. On a goal where they were three feet offside.

I guess if you whine and moan enough, people will take pity on you. Either that or they'll be afraid of making the call the next time.

Do you think the North American media will carry any of the Algerian complaints on air? HA!

England also advanced, beating Slovenia 1-0.

12 comments:

Grand Cards said...

I'm not one to blatantly question your judgment on this, but can you please re-watch the video and tell me who is offside on that goal? Nobody looks even CLOSE to offside to me.

Captain Canuck said...

the dude dressed in white on the goal line when the ball was struck...

Grand Cards said...

You mean Dempsey on the ground on the right side of the goal with a defender after they went after the ball? Yeah, that's not an offside penalty even though he was technically offside.

G_Moses said...

All's well that ends well. The US got cheated out of two goals - and I'm not convinced that there was an offside involved on the last play.

The US worked their arses off for the win. Donovan is the man today.

Chuck's Used Cards said...

Capt. - I gotta set you straight here ... the ball came off the Algerian goalkeeper last before Donovan played it ... so by the rules the goal is valid.

A player cannot be in the offside position if the ball is played to him by an opposing player.

You will also notice there were no protests from the Algerians - why ?
Because they know the rule.

Roy said...

Yeah, since it was a rebound, offsides basically cancels out.

Captain Canuck said...

rebounds and deflections have nothing to do with offside, unless the ball is played directly by the player in the offside position.

which was not the case. the rule we are looking at here is that a player is offside when nearer the goal than the ball and the last defender AND interferes with the play or an opponent. Certainly laying nearer the goal line tangled up with a defender qualifies. It was also called this way in the second Nederlands game.

for the FIFA rules, take a look here. It's got pictures even. I think it's scene 23 or thereabouts that covers this.

http://www.fifa.com/flash/lotg/football/en/flash/start.html

Grand Cards said...

Agree to disagree, I'm afraid. Dempsey and the defender were both taken out by the goalie and fly to the goal line. However, at no point does Dempsey interfere with the defender or prevent him from making a play on the ball. They are literally lying next to each other. It did not impact the play.

darkship said...

no impact on the play (goal) therefore no offsides can be called. if there would have been the chance of an offshides I have to agree with Chuck...there would have been A LOT of complaining and there was none.

NMCLax24 said...

Dempsy had no impact on the goalie's nor the defender's ability to make a play on the shot, therefore he is correctly not penalized for being in the offside position. You certainly raised hell with this post though.

shanediaz82 said...

Dempsey's goal earlier in the match shouldn't have been nullified, so even assuming you are right about Donovan's goal I still call it a wash...

Not to mention, if they weren't robbed of their 3rd goal in the previous match against Slovenia they would've been going into yesterday's game with 4 points instead of 2 anyway.

stusigpi said...

Is this why the Canadia people never make it to the WC? They plain don't know the rules? So step off hoser.